The Walter Swan Short Story Prize 2017-18. Open For Entries Now.

The winners are…click here to read all about it and the May You Anthology.

To view the shortlisted winners click here and for the full longlist click here.

We are delighted to announce that The Walter Swan Short Story Prize 2017-18 was launched at the Northern Short Story Festival on Saturday by Niccola Swan and Yvette Huddleston from the Trust. You can enter from now until the closing date of 16th October 2017.

The competition is run by the Northern Short Story Festival and the Leeds Big Bookend Festival in partnership with the Walter Swan Trust.




• Stories should be a maximum of 2000 words

•There is no theme and entries can be on any subject
• All stories must be previously unpublished
• Entry is open to everyone aged 18+
• Fee £3
• Submission via Submittable portal – here.

There will be a cash prize of £200, £100 and £50 for the three winners and the top 20 stories will be published in an anthology by Valley Press in May 2018 (not March as previously stated).

The judges’ decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

Our judges are Anna Chilvers, author of Tainted Love, and Angela Readman, winner of the 2013 Costa Short Story Prize.

Judge Anna Chilvers says: “It’s wonderful that the Walter Swan Trust is dedicated to nurturing emerging talent and I am delighted to be a part of this.”

Scroll to Top