Launching The Walter Swan Short Story Prize 2017-18

We are delighted to announce that The Walter Swan Short Story Prize 2017-18 will be launched at the Northern Short Story Festival on Saturday 3 June at the Carriageworks Theatre, Leeds. Entries will be accepted from then until the closing date of 16th October 2017.

The competition is run by the Northern Short Story Festival and the Leeds Big Bookend Festival in partnership with the Walter Swan Trust.


• Stories should be a maximum of 2000 words

•There is no theme and entries can be on any subject
• All stories must be previously unpublished
• Entry is open to everyone aged 18+
• Fee £3
• Submission via Submittable portal. The link will go live on Saturday 3 June. More information here.

There will be a cash prize of £200, £100 and £50 for the three winners and the top 20 stories will be published in an anthology by Valley Press in March 2018.

The judges’ decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

Our judges are Anna Chilvers, author of Tainted Love, and Angela Readman, winner of the 2013 Costa Short Story Prize.

Judge Anna Chilvers says: “It’s wonderful that the Walter Swan Trust is dedicated to nurturing emerging talent and I am delighted to be a part of this.”



Fiona Gell

Fiona is a lifelong reading enthusiast and book lover. Her career started as a bookseller and has never really veered away from the written and spoken word. It was a dream for her to be a founder member of The Leeds Big Bookend and the Northern Short Story Festival. She continues to be its Director.

You may also like...