Less Than 3 Weeks Left to Enter The Walter Swan Short Story Prize 2017-18.

There’s less than 3 weeks left to enter The Walter Swan Short Story Prize 2017-18 which was launched at the Northern Short Story Festival in June. There’s publication for 20 writers in the competition’s anthology to be published by Valley Press and cash prizes for 3 winners to be won. The closing date is 16th October! 

The competition is run by the Northern Short Story Festival and the Leeds Big Bookend Festival in partnership with the Walter Swan Trust.




• Stories should be a maximum of 2000 words

•There is no theme and entries can be on any subject
• All stories must be previously unpublished
• Entry is open to everyone aged 18+
• Fee £3
• Submission via Submittable portal – here.

There will be a cash prize of £200, £100 and £50 for the three winners and the top 20 stories will be published in an anthology by Valley Press in May 2018 (not March as previously stated).

The judges’ decision is final and no correspondence will be entered into.

Our judges are Anna Chilvers, author of Tainted Love, and Angela Readman, winner of the 2013 Costa Short Story Prize.

Judge Anna Chilvers says: “It’s wonderful that the Walter Swan Trust is dedicated to nurturing emerging talent and I am delighted to be a part of this.”

Scroll to Top