Announcing the Shortlist for the Remember Oluwale Writing Prize


We are pleased to announce the shortlist for The Remember Oluwale Writing Prize 2016, run in partnership with The Leeds Big Bookend Festival, Remember Oluwale and Fictions of Every Kind.

Congratulations to our 26 writers who made the longlist. Our final 10 have been chosen – 5 from prose and 5 from poetry. These will be judged on 27 April 2016 by a stellar panel comprising the renowned Caryl Phillips, Marina Lewycka and Ian Duhig who will pick the winners and runners-up in both categories.

Our shortlisted writers are:


Koyejo Adebakin “In the Cold” – (London)

Gloria Dawson “Promises (for David Oluwale)”– (Leeds)

Dominic Grace “Soft Going, Heavy in Places” – (Leeds)

Anietie Isong “The Storyteller”  – (London)

Elizabeth Ottosson “Touch” – (Leeds)


Alan Griffith ‘In the Day Room’ – (Lewes)

Ian Harker ‘Aire’ – (Leeds)

Andrew Lambeth “Holler for Oluwale” – (Leeds)

Wes Lee “The Story Has Overtaken Me”  – (New Zealand)

Char March “Son of the Mother-whose-children-are-like-fish” – (Leeds)

All 26 entries and some renowned guest writers will appear in an anthology which will be published by Valley Press in June 2016. The winners will be presented with their prizes at a private Awards ceremony on Friday 3rd June at the Carriageworks Theatre as part of the Leeds Big Bookend Festival 2016.


Fiona Gell

Fiona is a lifelong reading enthusiast and book lover. Her career started as a bookseller and has never really veered away from the written and spoken word. It was a dream for her to be a founder member of The Leeds Big Bookend and the Northern Short Story Festival. She continues to be its Director.

You may also like...